Virginia is for lovers……of traffic!

So yesterday and today I am in the Norfolk area for the 2010 Signature Conference of the Virginia Sesquicentennial American Civil War Commission.  More on the conference on my other blog later.  Today I write about the traffic nightmare that is the Norfolk area. 

Since I was nearby I thought that after the conference I would take a little jaunt to Colonial Williamsburg which is one of my favorite places.  I slipped out of the conference a little early, headed to my hotel to change, and jumped on I-64 to Williamsburg.  Google Maps indicates it is a 53 minute drive.  Now I know Google Maps can sometimes be in error, but I made it back from Williamsburg to the hotel in the span of 45 minutes so Google Maps in this case is close to accurate.  However, thanks to amazing rush hour traffic and the rude, crappy drivers that go along with it, my journey took me 2 hours.

Oh what fun!

PS, while writing this post I learned that WordPress spell check doesn’t understand the word sesquicentennial.

About jollyjam365

Fellow from New Jersey transplanted to Virginia via Tennessee. I love my beautiful wife, history, and photography.
This entry was posted in Annoyances, Traffic, travel, Virginia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

